Skip to content

Murder in Shimla

(Paperback Edition)
by Bulbul Sharma
Save 20%
Original Price Rs. 399.00
Current Price Rs. 319.00
(View Condition Chart)
Availability: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Only 5 left!

Notify me when back in stock

When, at the height of world War II, an uninvited guest arrives at a dinner party at chartsville hall, the Assistant deputy commissioner’s house in Shimla, the lives of its inmates are thrown into turmoil. Especially when the guest is blonde and beautiful found dead in her bed the next morning. Who is Rosa Rodriguez and why did she come to chartsville hall? In the answer to that question lies the key to solving the murder. Inspector Ram Sen sets about diligently finding it, ably assisted by the redoubtable Mrs tweedy, who knows everything that goes on in Shimla, though she hardly ever leaves her little cottage. The line-up of suspects includes William parker-smith, the seemingly bland and boring Assistant deputy commissioner, his wife Helen, a very br>Pukka English memsahib, and his acid-tongue sister, Emily; the gin-swilling Rani Sahiba of manon and her dashing ADC, Johnny Singh; and a disgruntled domestic Staff, led by Matilda, Helen’s faithful ayah. Which of them had a hand in Rosa’s murder—and why? As Ram Sen and Mrs tweedy, with help from William gentle niece, Mary, and Boris, the taciturn Russian, unravel the mystery, they are led into the murky world of the lower mall, of drug dealers and opium addicts, spies and assassins. With her unerring ear for dialogue and skilfully drawn characters, Bulbul Sharma recreates the world of the British complete with English memsahib who stroll down the mall with their parasols, mansions with manicured lawns, and brigadiers and their ladies who can crack a crime over bridge at the club. In the tradition of Agatha Christie and Alexander McCall Smith, murder in Shimla doesn't let up on the mystery and suspense until the last page.


Related Categories: Available Books English Books New Releases Newest Products Speaking Tiger

More Information:
Publisher: Speaking Tiger
Language: English
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 304
ISBN: 9788194490807

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)