Skip to content


(Paperback Edition)
by Anton Chekhov by Elisaveta Fen (Translator)
Original Price Rs. 499.00
Current Price Rs. 179.00
(View Condition Chart)

Notify me when back in stock

Goodreads Rating: 4.29

Publisher: Penguin Classics


Ivanov - A Drama in Four Acts
The Seagull - A Comedy in Four Acts
Uncle Vania - Scenes from Country Life in Four Acts
Three Sisters - A Drama in Four Acts
The Cherry Orchard - A Comedy in Four Acts
The Bear - A Jest in One Act
The Proposal - A Jest in One Act
A Jubilee - A Jest in One Act

Realistic and highly sensitive, Chekhov's plays revolve around a society which is on the brink of a tremendous upheaval.

The dramatic works of Anton Checkhov (1860-1904) present the actions of ordinary people - in his own words, 'as complx and yet just a simple as they are in life.'

Chekhov avoids any explicit political treatment, but the depth and subtlety of his art has generated a wealth of interpretation. His representations of human relationships is infinitely sympathetic, and each play contains at least one character who expresses Chekhov's hopes for a brighter future.

More Information:

Language: English
Binding: Paperback

Related Categories: Available Books Classic Fiction English Books Literature & Fiction Newest Products