Skip to product information
  • 1 of 2

    The Colditz Story

    No reviews
    Regular price
    Rs. 179.00
    Regular price
    Rs. 788.00
    Sale price
    Rs. 179.00
    Eligible for Free Shipping.
    Condition

    Condition Chart of Books

    New: These are new books which have been purchased from publishers and authors.

    Almost New: These are books which have been read previously or are excess stock from bookshops and publishers. These books will have:

    • Intact spine
    • No pen and pencil marks
    • No yellow or dirty pages
    • No physical damage
    • Intact front and back covers
    • Intact dust jacket and cover in case of Hardcovers
    • Accessories (if any) 

    Good: These are the books which have have been sourced from book lovers and are in very good condition. They may have signs of ageing but will be in pretty good condition. These books will have:

    • Visible wrinkles on covers
    • Name and other minor markings inside
    • Yellow pages and folded corners
    • A few wrinkled pages inside
    • Damaged or no dust jacket in case of hardcovers

    Readable: These are the warriors who have withered the storm. These books may be old and have visible wear and tear signs. These books will have:

    • Visible wrinkles on book and inside
    • Minor tear in a few pages but has all the pages
    • Name and other markings 
    • Dark and yellowish pages
    • Damages spine 
    • Damaged front and back cover

    Vintage: These are the books which are collector's delight. They will have the year of publication in their name and are usually in good condition except for the usual sign of wear and tear due to ageing.

    Free Shipping

    All prepaid orders are eligible for free shipping. Have more queries? Read more about our shipping and delivery policies here.

    100% Genuine Books

    We buy from publishers and authorized distributors only. So buying from Bookish Santa ensure 100% genuine books only.

    Author:            

    Goodreads Rating: 4.05

    Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

    About: 

    Colditz was the last stop for prisoners of war during WWII. Those who persisted in escaping from other camps were sent to the impregnable fortress of Colditz Castle, situated on a rocky outcrop high above the River Mulde. Once within the walls of the castle, the Germans reasoned, escape was impossible. And yet many prisoners attempted escape and many succeeded Pat Reid was one of those men. Appointed 'Escape Officer' by his fellow inmates, he masterminded many of the attempts. From tunnelling, to hiding in rubbish sacks, disguising themselves as German officers and even leaping from the castle walls, nothing was too dangerous or foolhardy compared to imprisonment by the enemy. Reid's own escape, in 1942, was both one of the most simple and the most daring. The Colditz Story is a classic escape story in the tradition of The Great Escape and The Wooden Horse.

    More Information:


    Language: English
    Binding: Paperback



    Related Categories: All Books English Books Non-Fiction Books