Skip to product information
  • 1 of 2

    Vanni: A Family's Struggle Through the Sri Lankan Conflict

    No reviews
    Regular price
    Rs. 639.00
    Regular price
    Sale price
    Rs. 639.00
    Eligible for Free Shipping.
    Condition

    Condition Chart of Books

    New: These are new books which have been purchased from publishers and authors.

    Almost New: These are books which have been read previously or are excess stock from bookshops and publishers. These books will have:

    • Intact spine
    • No pen and pencil marks
    • No yellow or dirty pages
    • No physical damage
    • Intact front and back covers
    • Intact dust jacket and cover in case of Hardcovers
    • Accessories (if any) 

    Good: These are the books which have have been sourced from book lovers and are in very good condition. They may have signs of ageing but will be in pretty good condition. These books will have:

    • Visible wrinkles on covers
    • Name and other minor markings inside
    • Yellow pages and folded corners
    • A few wrinkled pages inside
    • Damaged or no dust jacket in case of hardcovers

    Readable: These are the warriors who have withered the storm. These books may be old and have visible wear and tear signs. These books will have:

    • Visible wrinkles on book and inside
    • Minor tear in a few pages but has all the pages
    • Name and other markings 
    • Dark and yellowish pages
    • Damages spine 
    • Damaged front and back cover

    Vintage: These are the books which are collector's delight. They will have the year of publication in their name and are usually in good condition except for the usual sign of wear and tear due to ageing.

    Free Shipping

    All prepaid orders are eligible for free shipping. Have more queries? Read more about our shipping and delivery policies here.

    100% Genuine Books

    We buy from publishers and authorized distributors only. So buying from Bookish Santa ensure 100% genuine books only.

    In the tradition of Maus, Persepolis, Palestine, and The Breadwinner, Vanni is a graphic novel documenting the human side of the conflict between the Sri Lankan government and the "Tamil Tigers." Told from the perspective of a single family, it takes readers through the otherwise unimaginable struggles, horrors, and life-changing decisions families and individuals are forced to make when caught up in someone else's war.

    Set in Vanni, the northern region of Sri Lanka that was devastated by the civil war, this graphic novel follows the Ramachandran family as they flee their home after the 2004 tsunami and move from one displacement camp to the next, seeking an ever-elusive safe haven and struggling to keep each other alive. Inspired by Benjamin Dix's experience working in Sri Lanka for the United Nations during the war, Vanni draws on more than four years of meticulous research, official reports, and first-hand interviews with refugees. It depicts heroic acts of kindness and horrific acts of violence, memorializing the experiences of the Tamil civilians against the forces that seek to erase their memory.

    Elegantly drawn by Lindsay Pollock, and with a real sense of immediacy, this exceptionally moving graphic novel portrays the personal experiences of modern warfare, the process of forced migration, and the struggles of seeking asylum in Europe.
    More Information:

    Publisher: Penguin
    Language: English
    Binding: Paperback
    Pages: 271
    ISBN: 9780143449713

    Related Categories: All Books Comics & Mangas English Books